Resources For Parents

Online resources for parents and students on all subjects and various grade levels. All of these sites contain at least some free content. Some offer premium, paid subscriptions as well.

 

ALL SUBJECTS - multiple grade levels

  • ABCYA - abcya.com - Reading and math games and puzzles for pre-K through 5th grade.
  • Spelling City - spellingcity.com - Lots of free activities for K-12 including sight words, phonics, root words, science and math vocabulary.
  • Crickweb - crickweb.co.uk/ - From the U.K. so some of the grammar is a tad different. There are games on all subjects. (Literacy and Numeracy are referring to reading and math, for example.) 
  • Fun Brain - funbrain.com - Reading and math and silly games for young learners.
  • National Geographic for Kids - kids.nationalgeographic.com - Videos, articles, games, quizzes, and interactive activities.
  • PBS Kids - pbskids.org - Games, videos, and interactive activities.
  • Scholastic - scholastic.com - Lots and lots of resources for parents and students. Can be a bit overwhelming. Try starting here for games and activities.

 

LITERACY - multiple grade levels

  • Lexile Framework for Reading - lexile.com - Help finding books at the right level for your student whether you know their lexile score or not.
  • ReadWorks - readworks.org - Free sign up for short reading passages with comprehension questions.
  • Reading Rockets - readingrockets.org - Resources for parents and others to help young readers. 
  • Summer reading lists from the Association for Library Service to Children
  • Giggle Poetry - gigglepoetry.com
  • Starfall - starfall.com - K-4 reading resources including books and poetry read out loud.
  • Storyline Online - storylineonline.net - Videos display the pictures from books as they are read aloud. The site also includes activity guides for the books.
  • Time for Kids - timeforkids.com - News about and for kids. The homework helper section has grammar and writing help as well as flash cards on lots of subjects.

 

MATH - multiple grade levels