Skip to Main Content

Board of Education Members

While supporting the highest level of education possible for every student the school board does the following:

  •  Makes and reviews policies for the school district, while observing state laws & regulations pertaining to public education.
  • With the superintendent, develops the vision & mission for the district.
  • Adopts the budget that provides the financial basis for buildings, staff, materials and equipment which enable the district to carry out the educational program. This includes oversight of all district funds.
  • Acquires reliable information to enable it to make the best possible decisions about the scope & nature of the educational programming.
  • Provides policy for effective management of complaints.
  • Provides adequate & direct means to communicate with the public about district plans & needs.
  • Supports decisions made by the majority of the Board.


Sherri Wright

Board President

Sherri Wright is the director for District C. She graduated from Cortez High School and...

Sheri Noyes

Board Vice President

Sheri Noyes is the director for District F. She was born and raised in Cortez and lives...

Tammy Hooten

Board Treasurer

Tammy Hooten is the director for District E. She and her husband, along with their four...

Stacey Hall

Director District D

I was born and raised in Cortez, and graduated from M-CHS.  I was also raised in a...

Cody Wells

Director District A

School District Re-1

400 North Elm Street
PO Box R 
Cortez, CO 81321-0708
(970) 565-7522 

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.